Friday, March 02, 2007

Texas Independence Day

Texas Independence Day is a state holiday. Most state offices are closed today. I knew you all would want to know more about that, so I found this great article for you! :) Hopefully the Texans reading this already know. Texas history is taught in school here.

On March 2, 1836, Texas declared its independence from Mexico and became the Republic of Texas.

Life was never the same again.

For ten years, from 1836 to 1846, Texas existed precariously as a separate and unique nation. In Texas, March 2 is an official state holiday - Texas Independence Day. Each year, there are numerous parades, festivals and even a complete historical reenactment of the event.

Independence is declared; it must be maintained.
Sam Houston
Washington - March 2, 1836

The History

Fifty-four delegates of the Convention of 1836 began meeting on March 1 at the village of Washington-on-the-Brazos, located today between present-day Houston and Austin. Each of the settlements of Texas were represented by delegates elected one month earlier. The convention elected Richard Ellis president of the convention, and Herbert S. Kimble secretary.

The delegates had very little time to debate over their mission. Delegates of Convention of 1836 wrote and adopted the Texas Declaration of Independence. This was done literally overnight. They elected a committee of five delegates to draft the document. The committee, consisted of George C. Childress, Edward Conrad, James Gaines, Bailey Hardeman, and Collin McKinney, prepared the declaration in record time. It was briefly reviewed, then adopted by the delegates of the convention the following day. Afterwards they prepared a Constitution for the newly formed Republic, and organized an an interim government. These actions were accomplished amid almost daily reports of the invasion on Texas soil by Mexico, and the collapse of the Alamo and destruction of its defenders.
The ad interim government that was created by the delegates took office at the close of the convention, and served until the following October, when general elections could be held. Officers of the newly formed Republic included:

David G. Burnet, President
Lorenzo de Zavala, Vice-president
Samuel P. Carson, Secretary of State
Thomas J. Rusk, Secretary of War
Bailey Hardeman, Secretary of Treasury
David Thomas, Attorney General
With their mission accomplished, the delegates and the newly formed government of the Republic of Texas adjourned in haste during the early morning hours of March 17, following news of the approach of Santa Anna and the Mexican army.

Read this article and the Texas Declaration of Independence here.

Happy Texas Independence Day!

No comments: